God’s Trombones: Seven Negro Sermons in Verse, by James Weldon Johnson, was published in 1927. Artist Aaron Douglas provided a series of full-page illustrations to accompany Johnson’s poems. The titles of the pieces, above, are in order from top to bottom: The Crucifixion, The Judgment Day, Listen Lord A Prayer, Noah Built the Ark, Go Down Death, Let My People Go, The Prodigal Son. The complete text to God’s Trombones, as well as reproductions of all the artwork, is available from Documenting the American South